Wednesday, 11 July 2018

11.7.18 IWC Champion Trophy Results

Last night’s gala dinner in London saw the presentation of the top IWC awards. Fortified Winemaker of the Year went to Sergio Martínez of Bodegas Emilio Lustau, who seems to be keeping this award at the bodega as successor to Manuel Lozano who won it seven times. This is Sergio’s second. Ironically the Manuel Lozano Trophy for Fortified Wine went to a Madeira, Justino’s 50 year old Terrantez.

The top awards given to Sherry as a whole were as follows:

Pedro Ximénez Trophy: Harveys PX VORS
Oloroso Trophy: Lustau Almacenista Oloroso González Obregón
Palo Cortado Trophy: Harveys Palo Cortado
Amontillado Trophy: Harveys Very Old Amontillado VORS
Manzanilla Trophy: Booth’s Manzanilla (Williams & Humbert)
Fino Trophy: González Byass Tres Palmas
Cream Sherry Trophy: González Byass Matúsalem VORS
Sherry Trophy: González Byass Tres Palmas
Best Value Champion Fortified: Booth’s Manzanilla (Williams & Humbert)

No comments:

Post a Comment