Saturday, 8 July 2017

8.7.17 Latest IWC and CIVAS Sherry Results 2017

The judges in the 34th edition of the prestigious International Wine Competition worked their way through 15,000 wines to arrive at the results and the following are the winners in their respective categories with reference to Sherry.

González Byass Fino Una Palma (Fino Trophy)
Francisco Yuste Amontillado Conde de Aldama (Amontillado Trophy)
Lustau Pedro Ximénez VORS (Pedro Ximénez Trophy)
Diez Mérito Oloroso Victoria Regina VORS (Oloroso Trophy)
Tradición Palo Cortado VORS (Palo Cortado Trophy and Manuel Lozano Champion Sherry Trophy)
Argüeso Manzanilla San León (Manzanilla Trophy)
Lustau Morrisons “The Best” Palo Cortado (Great Value Champion Fortified)
Sergio Martínez of Lustau (Fortified Winemaker of the Year)
González Byass (Len Evans Trophy for consistency over past 5 years)

Sergio Martinez

Meanwhile in the CIVAS (Akatavino International Wine Competition judged by sommeliers) the clear winner in the Sherry category was Delgado Zuleta. The five wines entered all won gold or better. The Gran Oro is only open to wines scoring over 95 points and Oro 90 points in the Guía Xtreme. Their results were:

Manzanilla La Goya (magnum) Gran Oro
Palo Cortado Monteagudo Gran Oro
Manzanilla Entusiástico Oro
Manzanilla Barbiana (magnum) Oro
Manzanilla Barbiana en rama Oro

No comments:

Post a Comment