Saturday, 2 June 2018

2.6.18 International Wine Challenge 2018 2nd Tranche Sherry Results

Known as the “Wine Oscars”, the IWC is, along with the Decanter World Wine Awards, the biggest wine competition. It is held in two tranches (in November and April) with the Champion Trophy and Winemaker of the Year being chosen from the shortlists and announced at the awards dinner in London on 10th July.  

Listed below are the Sherry results to date:   
Fortified Winemaker of the Year
Shortlist: Sergio Martínez (Lustau), Antonio Flores González Byass), Manuel José Valcárcel (Harveys)

Champion of Champions
Shortlist: Cuatro Palmas, González Byass

Sherry Trophy: Tres Palmas, González Byass
Pedro Ximénez Trophy: Harveys PX VORS
Amontillado Trophy: Amontillado VORS, Harveys
Cream Trophy: Matusalem VORS, González Byass
Fino Trophy: Tres Palmas, González Byass
Manzanilla Trophy: Booth’s Manzanilla (Williams & Humbert)
Oloroso Trophy: Oloroso del Puerto Almacenista González Obregón, Lustau
Palo Cortado Trophy: Palo Cortado, Harveys

Unfortunately there are just too many other awards to list here but there were 44 Gold medals, 41 Silvers, 19 Bronze, 9 Commendations and 3 Great Value, showing not only that Sherry is a serious international contender in terms of quality but also that it is at last being taken very seriously again.

No comments:

Post a Comment